Premier Sponsor

June, 2013

Member Services Corner

The Annual Gatorade Banquet at this years' 47th CATA National Conference was another huge success. The event took place in the Harbour Ballroom of the Westin Harbour Castle Hotel, in Toronto, Ontario on Friday, May 24th. Many Association members were honored throughout the evening for their outstanding efforts and accomplishments as athletic therapists. The Canadian Athletic Therapists Association (CATA) would like to congratulate the following award winners:

Outgoing CATA President- Connie Klassen

Hall of Fame Award- Marcia Franklin

Special Recognition Award- Elsa Orecchio

Honorary Member- Steve Aspinall

Distinguished Athletic Therapy Educator Award- Ben Trunzo

Evert van Beek Memorial Award- Rick Schaly

Member Emeritus Award- Dale Butterwick

Merit Award- Brad Shaw, Mark Grehan, Lee Stubbs, & Rob Milette (Winnipeg Jets Medical Staff)

Outstanding Supervisory Athletic Therapist Award- Amanda Halls

Research Foundation Grant- Lauren Lattimer

Writing Award (Certified Athletic Therapist Category)- Colin King

Writing Award (Candidate Category)- Kerry Pavlovic

Larry Ashley Memorial Scholarship Award- Blake Barry

CATA Annual Scholarship - Alana M. Gulka

CATA Student Leadership Award (Sheridan College)- Michael Robinson

CATA Student Leadership Award (York University)- Jill Stockton

CATA Student Leadership Award (Camosun College)- Sarah Black

CATA Student Leadership Award (University of Manitoba)- Amanda Kaczmarek

CATA Student Leadership Award (Concordia University)- Christopher Ciccarelli

CATA Student Leadership Award (Mount Royal)- Karen Pulsifer

CATA Student Leadership Award (University of Winnipeg)- Florent Thézard

Volunteer Appreciation Gifts were awarded to members who completed their term and service to committees of the CATA. Association members completed their full term will receive a piece of artwork of their choice from Kish Studios. Recognized members included:

Board of Directors

Constance Klassen (Chairperson)

Lisa Swallow (Secretary)

Elsa Orecchio (Treasurer)

Stuart Munroe

Karen Holland

Canadian Board of Certification for Athletic Therapy

Julie Dickson (Administrative Manager)

Andrea Wazney (HR Facilitator West)

Christine Johnston (Exam Developer)

Marianna Varpalotai (Exam Developer)

Noreen Ortilla (Exam Developer)

Dennis Valdez (Statistics)

Kristen Streed (RS Coordinator- Calgary)

Mandy Los (RS Coordinator- Winnipeg)

Loriann Hynes (National Examiner Coordinator)

Education Committee

Dennis Valdez (Chairperson)

Kelly Stott (Newsletter)

Jennifer Gow (Interim Certification Candidate Liaison West)

Ethics Committee

Marcel Charland (Chairperson)

Jamie Rempel

Jill Bruder

Katrina Lambert

David Laurin

Lynn Bookalam

Program Accreditation Committee

Khatija Westbrook (Chairperson)

Jim Macleod

International Relations Committee

Dexter Nelson (Chairperson)

Member Services Committee

Elsa Orecchio (Chairperson)

High Performance Providers Committee

Ben Trunzo

Cindy Hughes

Marketing, Sponsorship and Insurance Committee

Erin MacDonald (Chairperson)

Financial Advisory Committee

Emily Hadida

Personnel Committee

Colleen Creighton

The Awards Banquet was an unforgettable celebration of the outstanding efforts and contributions by CATA members to the profession of Athletic Therapy. This incredible evening could not have been possible without the help of several important people and organizations. The CATA would like to thank Richard DeMont - Master of Ceremonies for the evening, Kirsten Parker - Project Coordinator at Strauss Event & Association Management, and all of our Corporate Sponsors:
- Gatorade
- KineMedics
- Trainers Choice
- Diamond Athletic Medical Supplies
- Professional Orthopedic Products
- DJO Global
- Vancouver Canucks (also there as special guests)
- Human Kinetics
- Medelco
- The Personal Insurance

The celebration of our growing profession and the recognition of our outstanding members cannot happen without your nominations and applications for these awards. Please take some time to become familiar with the association awards qualifications and consider whether you or someone you know might be deserving of an award.

Association awards are presented annually. Applications/nomination forms must be completed in full and submitted online before March 1st of each year. If you have any questions about the Annual Awards process, please see the Awards section of the website ( or email Heather Tugnett (

Once again, congratulations to all of this year’s winners and volunteers!

Printer Friendly Version

Back to news page